The Stapleford Miniature Railway is unique to the Stapleford Estate. It first opened on the 18th May 1958, with the line just running from the Stables to the Hall. The then 2nd Lord Gretton was looking for an additional attraction for families to the Stately Home and Grounds.
The line was then extended down to the lake on the 3rd May 1959 and by 1963 and 1968 respectively two large scaled liners had been commissioned and built to carry passengers around the lake. The line continued to expand under the direction of the 2nd Lord Gretton’s son (the late 3rd Lord Gretton) however come the death of the 2nd Lord Gretton in 1982 the House and Grounds were closed to the public not long after. Then with the ultimately death of the 3rd Lord Gretton the railway was untouched for many years.
His wife, Jennifer, Lady Gretton and son, the 4th Lord Gretton decided to bring together a small group of enthusiasts to see if it could be restored and preserved. This small band grew into what is now known the FSMR (Friends of the Stapleford Minature Railway) who to this day with the full support and direction of the Gretton Family keep alive the original ideals and ethos of the SMR.
The SMR is steeped in history, with the likes of Patrick MacNee and Diana Rigg filming an episode of “The Avengers” or Pete Waterman opening the new station building.